It’s What You Want That Matters

Lyrics:

And this is for you; you must know it’s for you
What else can I think about?
I knocked on your door until my fingers were sore, although I’d guessed you were out
And what do I need?
Is it hunger or greed that has brought me here?
And what will I find?
Aren’t we two of a kind?
Oh, I take back everything; I didn’t mean a thing

And when you pull the strings; I don’t think you feel a thing

Don’t forget what I say, we can be back in one day
We can borrow your mother’s car*
Don’t sing me that song; I’ve been here for too long
Oh, you couldn’t have looked that far
You couldn’t have looked that far
I seem to recall you said nothing at all the day that this letter came
It must have been sent by the friend of a friend
Oh now I forget his name
I’m really not to blame

And when you pull the strings I don’t think you feel a thing
Oh, do you feel a thing?
And when you pull the strings I don’t think you feel a thing

*On the original recording this line was “pick up your mother’s car” but it’s been subsequently changed. Other lines have been subtly changed as well over the years.

Leave a Reply

