Bear

Going, Going… track seven – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. Another 119 miles down the coast southwards and we arrive in Delaware. This has been a live favourite since 2013 and no wonder: the gorgeous acappela, the roaring guitars, the lyrics…oh the lyrics. ‘Bear’ is a song about doubt, about maybe you’ve made the wrong decision because who else loves you like they did?

Lyrics:

In unfamiliar surroundings it’s comforting when some thing’s just don’t change
But I won’t deny it’s quite odd when your songs come on my iPod; it’s kind of strange
But the thing I miss the most is the thing I didn’t notice; that you’re my best friend
You’d put up with me nearly to the point where you’d be really at your wit’s end

Now who’ll be answering me when I call?
Now who’ll be telling me to walk tall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
And I’m not sure I can bear to be without you, I know where I would rather be tonight
You said don’t walk away from this; you said it’s just your cowardice
Now I’m thinking maybe you were right

What did you do today without me?I wonder if you thought about me; what I left behind
No, I’ve no right to be even asking; talking to me’s the very last thing that’s on your mind

Now who’ll be answering me when I call?
Now who’ll be telling me to walk tall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
And I’m not sure I can bear to be without you, I know where I would rather be tonight
You said don’t walk away from this; you said it’s just your cowardice
Now I’m thinking maybe you were right

Now who’ll be answering me when I call?
Now who’ll be telling me to walk tall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?
Now who’ll be catching me when I fall?

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Layton

Live: 

First played live At The Edge of Sea festival, Concorde2, Brighton, UK on 25/08/2013

Place: Bear, New Castle County, Delaware
GPS: 39°38’N 75°39’W
Wiki

Leave a Reply

