Bells

Going, Going… track eleven – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. The second half of the album starts the drive West across the States. 896 miles separate the previous song from the destination in Tennessee. There is an alarming realisation that things aren’t right after the night before. ‘Bells’ includes the unmistakable backing vocals of Terry de Castro and some soaring guitarwork as our narrator reaches a nadir.

Lyrics:

Oh, I’ve already run out of things to say to you
Last night that really was a stupid thing to do

I should’ve heard alarm bells ringing; that’s what I’m thinking
I should’ve heard alarm bells ringing; that’s what I’m thinking
And I called you darling because I’d already forgotten your name
What a total unqualified disaster this all became

Oh I don’t want to leave you thinking that I’m just some kind of creep
But I don’t want to make a promise that I’ll never ever keep

I should’ve heard alarm bells ringing; that’s what I’m thinking
I should’ve heard alarm bells ringing; that’s what I’m thinking
And I called you darling because I’d already forgotten your name
What a total unqualified disaster this all became

But before you get too mad, remember, that we can’t lose something we never had
It’s all a game, whatever words that we use

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Beer-Pearce/Layton

Live: first played at the Waterfront, Norwich, UK on 23/07/2015

Place: Bells, Crockett County, Tennessee
GPS: 35°43’N 89°5’W
Wiki

Video

Leave a Reply

