Fifty-Six

Going, Going… track twelve – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. 226 miles west into Arkansas. ‘Fifty-Six’ is about when you know that you’ve fucked up. A down from where there’s no up. Fifty-Six’ ends with a raucous cacophony but maybe you were wrong…?

Lyrics:

So where do I begin? What about…
Your skin on my skin, your disapproving stare, the smell of your hair
The warmth of your caress, the breeze ruffling your dress from the other side of the USA?
It’s like I never went away

And, yes, I’ve gotten what I thought I sought after but I really got it wrong this time
I’ve tried hard at being strong but I’m feeling more depleted  every day
I’m unconditionally defeated

Your picture in my ‘phone reminds me I’m alone
I should delete it but that sounds kind of desperate
No, I can handle this; I’ve just got to try not to reminisce because I’m glad I did what I did
Oh who am I trying to kid?

And, yes, I’ve gotten what I thought I sought after but I really got it wrong this time
I’ve tried hard at being strong but I’m feeling more depleted  every day
I’m unconditionally defeated

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Layton

Live: first played at the La Cita bar, Los Angeles, USA on 13/02/2015

Place: Fifty-Six, Stone County, Arkansas
GPS: 35°57’N 92°14’W
Wiki

Video

Leave a Reply

