Little Silver

Going, Going… track six – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. Forty-nine miles south and we are into New Jersey. Storewide, after Two Bridges, the narrator decides to make the break that he was contemplating earlier. ‘Little Silver’ is fragile but you can feel the confidence building as the song kicks into higher gears with churning guitars.

Lyrics: 

You looked so shocked when I said: “I’m leaving” but I think I shocked myself
Even more for what it’s worth, I knew right then
Appearances can be deceiving but it feels like I just arrived in the happiest place on earth
Because I can breathe again

It was just time for me to go; there’s nothing else you need to know
There’s no point in questioning or anything
There’s nothing
We’d reached a cul-de-sac and I am never coming back
This is what’s happening and it’s everything or nothing

I’m sure you’re thinking I’ll regret it but in case you didn’t notice
I’m a different person now. I became someone.
And there’s no point telling me to forget it; my life’s no longer based on what you will allow
Those days have gone

It was just time for me to go; there’s nothing else you need to know
There’s no point in questioning or anything
There’s nothing
We’d reached a cul-de-sac and I am never coming back
This is what’s happening and it’s everything or nothing

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Layton

First heard: (live in session – Gideon Coe, 6 Music 03/11/2013)

Place: Little Silver, Monmouth County, New Jersey
GPS: 40°20’N 74°3’W
Wiki

Leave a Reply

