Rachel

Going, Going… track nineteen – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. 368 miles West into Nevada and as close as you can get to Area 51. It’s the most romantic song on the album, a joyous ode to love rekindled. The “best pop song you’ll hear all year” Gedge jokes onstage, “you’ll be whistling it on the way home”.  ‘Rachel’ features catchy lyrics, dancing guitars and a poppy tune that is just adorable. Fall in love again.

DLG to StereoboardEvery now and then the Wedding Present comes up with an out and out pop song, I think this might be our favourite track on the album.

Lyrics:

So we could….sleep under the stars
Drink champagne, jump railroad cars
And then skim stones forever
Because we’ll never be apart again, ah

You whisper words, I stroke your hair
Oh, I’m not going anywhere
Because I, I want to serve you
I know I don’t deserve you but I’m going to try

Listen to that guitar
Listen, Rachel, they are playing our song
One plus one equals two
Lying here beside you is where I belong

Listen to that guitar
Listen, Rachel, they are playing our song
One plus one equals two
Lying here beside you is where I belong

Listen to that guitar
Listen, Rachel, they are playing our song
One plus one equals two
Lying here beside you is where I belong

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Beer-Pearce/Layton

Live: first played at The Engine Rooms, Southampton, UK on 16/10/2015

Place: Rachel, Lincoln County, Nevada
GPS: 37°39’N 115°45’W
Wiki

Leave a Reply

