Secretary

Going, Going… track eight – all the tracks are named after places in the USA. 94 miles to the South East and we enter Maryland. A diversive song: I didn’t like it myself at first when I heard it live but in the context of the album I love it. It’s not just frantic and wild but it shows the hypocrisy and frustration of a man who thinks the person they left should be still available at their beck and call. Ballinger’s backing vocals give it a real shambling indie verve.

Lyrics:

[His] I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
I haven’t heard from you and I’m really getting worried
I haven’t heard from you and I’m really getting worried

I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
And, no, I don’t really want to leave a message!
And, no, I don’t really want to leave a message!

[Hers] I’m tired of all this going back and forth; I don’t want to hear it anymore
Just let me know when your mind’s made up

[His] I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
I only ever seem to get through to your secretary
And I’m beginning to think you’re doing this on purpose
And I’m beginning to think you’re doing this on purpose

[Hers] I’m tired of all this going back and forth; I don’t want to hear it anymore
Just let me know when your mind’s made up

Written by: Gedge/Alexander/Layton

Live: first played At The Edge of the Sea, Concorde2, Brighton, UK on 23/08/2014

Place: Secretary, Dorchester County, Maryland
GPS: 38°37’N 75°57’W
Wik

Video

 

Leave a Reply

