The membership of David Gedge’s bands has fluctuated on a fairly regular basis ever since Peter ‘Grapper’ Solowka’s departure back in 1991. Since then, for one reason and another, there’s been a line-up change on virtually every album release since. So this is not a comprehensive list of all musicians associated with the band but hopefully it captures the majority of the important ones. It’s up-to-date as of early 2017 and I’m reliably informed the current live line-up is ‘rockin’.

Permanent band members (in studio and live) chronological order


David Lewis Gedge (vocalist, guitarist, various other instruments, lyricist, main songwriter)
Date of Birth: 23/04/1960 Bramley, Leeds, UK
Period in band: 1985-present (32 years and counting)
Previous band: The Lost Pandas


Peter Solowka (guitarist)
Period in band: 1985-1991 (7 years)
Other bands: The Chorus, The Ukrainians

Keith Gregory (bassist)
Period in band: 1985-1993 (9 years)
Other bands: The Lost Pandas, Dustdevils, Cha Cha Cohen


Shaun Charman (drummer)
Period in band: 1985-1987 (3 years)
Other bands: The Flatmates


Peter Solowka, David Gedge, Keith Gregory, Simon Smith


Keith Gregory, Paul Dorrington, Simon Smith, David Gedge

Simon Smith (drummer)
Period in band: 1988-1997 (10 years)
Other bands: The Chorus, The Sinister Cleaners, Cha Cha Cohen, Beachbuggy









Paul Dorrington (guitarist)
Period in band: 1991-1995 (5 years)
Other bands: AC Temple, Tse Tse Fly, Cha Cha Cohen, Walker


Darren Belk [Jack Straker] (bassist, guitarist, vocalist)
Period in band: 1993-1996 (4 years)
Other bands: Bungalow, Beachbuggy, Walker


Jayne Lockey (bassist, vocalist)
Period in band: 1995-1997 (3 years)
Other bands: Tse Tse Fly  – with Paul Dorrington and Simon Cleave


Simon Cleave (guitarist)
Period in band: 1996-2006, 2009 (11 years)
Other bands: Tse Tse Fly  – with Paul Dorrington and Jayne Lockey


Sally Murrell (keyboardist, vocalist)
Period in band: 1997-2003 (7 years)

Terry de Castro at The Edge of the Sea mini festival at Concorde2, Brighton - 25 Aug 2013

Terry de Castro (bassist)
Period in band: 1998-2010 (13 years) and occasional appearances since
Other bands: Animals That Swim, Goya Dress 


Bryan McLellan (drummer)
Period in band: 1998-1999 (2 years)
Other bands: Tom McRae, Vega4, Tape the Radio, 24Pesos

Philip Robinson (keyboardist)
Period in band: 1998-2000 (3 years)


Simon Pearson (drummer)
Period in band: 2000 (plus live-only 2005) (1 year)
Other bands: Goya Dress – with Terry de Castro


Kari Paavola (drummer)
Period in band: 2000-2005 (6 years)


Graeme Ramsay (drummer, guitarist)
Period in band: 2006-2012 (7 years)
Other bands: Silvermash

Christopher McConville (guitarist)
Period in band: 2006-2009 (4 years)

Terry de Castro, Chris McConville, David Gedge, Graeme Ramsay
Terry de Castro, Chris McConville, David Gedge, Graeme Ramsay


Charles Layton (drummer)
Period in band: 2009-present


Pepe Le Moko (bassist)
Period in band: 2010-2012 (3 years)
Other bands: The Evil Son  – with Samuel Beer-Pearce


Patrick Alexander (guitarist)
Period in band: 2012-2013 (2 years)
Other bands: The Young Playthings


Katherine Wallinger (bassist, vocalist)
Period in band: 2012-2016 (5 years)
Other bands: The Candys

Samuel Beer-Pearce (guitarist)
Period in band: 2013-2016 (4 years)
Other bands: The Evil Son – with Pepe Le Moko

David Gedge, Charles Layton, Katherine Wallinger, Samuel Beer-Pearce

David Gedge, Charles Layton, Katherine Wallinger, Samuel Beer-Pearce


Danielle Wadey (keyboardist, bassist, guitarist)
Period in band: 2013-
(Occasional live member as keyboardist from 2013 to 2016 then became permanent bassist late in 2016 and then guitarist from 2018)


Marcus Kain (guitarist)
Period in band: 2016-2017 (2 years)
Other bands: Twenty Two Hundred


Marcus Kain, David Gedge, Charles Layton and Danielle Wadey

Melanie Howard (keyboards and bass)
Period in band: After playing occasionally live since 2015, Melanie became an official member in 2018.
Other bands: Such Small Hands

Melanie Howard, David Gedge, Danielle Wadey, Charles Layton, the Wedding Present in 2018

Temporary members (in studio)

Julian Sowa (drums)  Go Out and Get ‘Em Boy! (1985)
Mike Stout (guitars)
Amelia Fletcher (vocalist)
Len Liggins (vocalist)
Emma Pollock (vocalist)
Marty Wilson-Piper (guitarist)
Anthony Coote (bassist)

Temporary members (live)

Hugh Kelley Jnr (2nd drummer) 1995-1996
Debbie Vander Wall (2nd drummer) 1995-1996
Chris Cooper (2nd drummer) 1995-1996
Richard Marcangelo (drummer) 1998
Phil Prime (drummer) 2005
John Maiden (drummer) 2005
Jennifer Schwartz (bassist) Feb/Mar 2013
Geoffrey Maddock (guitarist) 2013